Be Thrifty or Be Luxe?

Deciding when to spend my hard-earned cash… and on what

Splurge: Lush Fresh Handmade Cosmetics June 5, 2008

Filed under: Splurge — ThriftLuxe @ 5:00 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Lush is an English company that sells handmade soap, shampoo, bath products, and other delicious goodies made out of mostly natural ingredients.  I was first introduced to Lush during my brief stint in England, and immediately fell in love.  Let me clarify things a bit – I am not, what you might call, a card-carrying veganese tree hugger, though lusting after Lush may have you think that way.  I am instead your average-every-day trying-to-do-the-right-thing American (with a thing for hyphens, apparently), and Lush certainly helps me on that path while making my baths & showers a lot more enjoyable.

Some for my favorite products include:

  • Lush Prince Shaving Cream – Made for men, but wonderful for me… have you ever wondered what it would feel like to have angels kissing your legs while you shave?
  • Lush Happy Hippy Hair and Body Gel (body wash to those of you not, you know, “in the know”) – Invigorating, delicious, and peppy; aka, the anti-me in the morning
  • Lush Tisty Tosty bath bomb – holy hell, this thing is amazing.  Drop it into a warm tub, and it fizzes away leaving some delicious rose blossoms in its wake.  The bad news about Lush bath bombs is that they get you hooked on a certain scent, then yank the thing off the market (a la Chelsea Garden).  The good news about Lush bath bombs is that they keep their old faithful stand-bys around (this being one of them), and lure you right back in with brand new varieties to fall in love with.  Added bonus:  the smell usually lingers in the bathroom for a few days – instant air freshener!
  • Lush Honey I Washed the Kids Soap:  Creamy, honey-smelling soap that actually feels good on your skin.  I love the little honeycomb bit on top.

Mmmm, bath time!

 

Leave a comment